Recent Journal and Magazine Publications

2020

The Hamilton Stone Review, Issue #43, Fall 2020. "Switch," "After My Grandfather's Death," and "In the Park." http://www.hamiltonstone.org/hsr43poetry.html#spicer

 

Delta Poetry Review, Volume: 3, Issue: 6. "She Doesn't Even Know Who I Am," "Her Biggest Fan," and "Elvis Produce Man." https://deltapoetryreview.com/oct2020-david-spicer.html

 

Yellow Mama, October 15, 2020, Issue #82. "Regrets." http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/id2379.html?fbclid=IwAR0u5zP9WhqPwMeX-WQLOK2rKNAUlXeoDq9ezKo1Up3fnOui_HloAkqcU0U

 

Red Eft Review, October 12, 2020. "The Misanthrope's Talent." https://redeftreview.blogspot.com/2020/10/the-misanthropes-talent-by-david-spicer.html

 

The Avalon Literary Review, Fall 2020.  "Family Pleasures." See website for purchase: http://www.avalonliteraryreview.com/Order-Copies-of-the-Review.html

 

Chiron Review, Issue #119. "If You Might Be Dying." See website for purchase: http://www.chironreview.com/

 

The Mark Literary Review, October 2020. "Blue Dress." https://www.themarkliteraryreview.com/october-2020

 

impspired, Issue 7. "The Impatience of Insomniacs," "I Can't Even Remember What Caused Our Rift," and  "Enigma." https://impspired.com/2020/10/01/david-spicer/

 

The New Verse News, September 29, 2020. "Goodbye, Charon." https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2020/09/goodbye-charon.html?fbclid=IwAR25dTAa95DFoBv_iToQssEh4gNd5vJz7-4xmTUQ2RUtXpzqLAG1ZF-_HtM

 

First Literary Review-East, September 2020. "Bicycles." http://www.rulrul.4mg.com/?fbclid=IwAR2iXXkh34SlcyGU508Bcq4mTuSAcTFHrEj-NKh85boFamszVgYidBNIIq4

 

The Shore, Issue 7, Autumn 2020: "Mulberries and Spiders," https://www.theshorepoetry.org/david-spicer-mulberries-and-spiders

 

The Rye Whiskey Review, September 16, 2020: "Fini." https://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/2020/09/fini-by-david-spicer.html?m=1

 

Poetry and Covid, September 9, 2020: "Pandemic," "The Human Virus," and "Happy Birthday in the Era of Covid." https://poetryandcovid.com/2020/09/09/three-poems-10/

 

Oyster River Pages, #4, 2020: "All My Love, Julia."  https://www.oysterriverpages.com/all-my-love-julia

 

Mad Swirl, August 24, 2020: "Sights to Behold." https://madswirl.com/poetry/

 

Tipton Poetry Journal, Summer 2020, #45: "The Doctor and the Crow." https://issuu.com/tiptonpoetryjournal/docs/tpj45

 

The Rye Whiskey Review, August 10, 2010: "The Debt." https://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/2020/08/the-debt-by-david-spicer.html

 

Global Poemic, July 8, 2020: "Dedication." https://globalpoemic.wordpress.com/

 

Poetica Review, Issue 5, Spring 2020: "This World of Men and Women." http://poeticareview.com/david-spicer/

 

Short Story Avenue, June 26, 2020: "You Are There and I Am Here." https://shortstoryavenue.com/2020/06/26/you-are-there-and-i-am-here-by-david-spicer/

 

The Rye Whiskey Review, June 21, 2020: "Duplex." https://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/2020/06/duplex-by-david-spicer.html

 

Short Story Avenue, June 19, 2020: "After You Said Yes."  https://shortstoryavenue.com/2020/06/19/after-you-said-yes-by-david-spicer/

 

Steam Ticket,  Volume 23 Spring 2020: "Elena." Print issue purchase info at https://steamticket.org/purchase-issues/

 

Levitate Issue 4. "Secrets to a Long Life."  Print issue info at  https://levitatemagazine.org/

Yellow Mama #80, June 15, 2020: "Rita Hayworth and Me," "Strangers Keep Friending Me" and "True Love." http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/

 

Ephemeral Elegies, June 3, 2020: "Staying at Home." https://ephemeralelegies.com/2020/06/03/staying-at-home-by-david-spicer/#more-448

 

Muddy River Poetry Review #22, Spring 2020:  "The Basement" and "My Sister's Gift."  https://www.muddyriverpoetryreview.com/

 

CircleShow #21, May 2020: "The Mermaid and the Airplane" and "The Bargain."  https://www.sevencirclepress.com/magazine

 

The Rye Whiskey Review, May 23, 2020: "Bold Proposal." https://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/2020/05/bold-proposal-by-david-spicer.html?m=1

 

Birdsong Journal, May 19, 2020: "No Death for Old Habits." https://birdsongjournal.blogspot.com/

 

Sheltering in Place, The Anthology. Staring Problem Press. May, 2020:  "Masks," "Respect in a New World," and "Free Spirits." Purchase  at https://www.staringproblempress.com/shop/sheltering-in-place?fbclid=IwAR1ny4dA68yBE5LMY0DOH7R5b2Li2Al8Asuu1gCih3oSRuzMeQocDmBpAg4

The New Verse News, May 7, 2020: "Animals in Paradise." https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2020/05/animals-in-paradise.html

 

Sheepshead Review,  Spring 2020, May 5, 2020: "To the Young Fisherman." https://issuu.com/officialsheepsheadreview/docs/136_contentpages_spring_2020_may_2

 

The Mark Literary Review, May 2020: "For Mrs. H." https://www.themarkliteraryreview.com/may-2020

 

dreams walking, issue 1, april 2020: "Slumber and the Storm" and "The Animals Will Never Tell Me." https://www.dreamswalking.org/current-issue

 

Moria, Spring 2020, April 27, 2020: "For A, on the Deck of an Atlantic Cruise Ship." https://www.moriaonline.com/issue-five-640718/2020/4/27/for-a-on-the-deck-of-an-arctic-cruise-ship-by-david-spicer

 

Hamilton Stone Review, Issue 42, Spring 2020: "Our Sunday Drives."  http://www.hamiltonstone.org/hsr42%20poetry.html#oursundaydrives

Yellow Mama, Issue #79, April 15, 2020: "Harry the Hippie" and "Michelango's Handshakes." http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/index.html

 

little somethings press: a collection of small writings, Issue 2, March 2020: "o u t s i d e r ."  Order at  https://little-somethings-press.square.site/product/issue-two/3?cp=true&sa=true&sbp=false&q=false

 

Ephemeral Elegies, March 2020: "My Uncle's Ashes." https://ephemeralelegies.com/2020/02/25/my-uncles-ashes-by-david-spicer/

 

Tipton Poetry Journal, Winter 2020, Issue #43: "The Wolf, The Falcon, and the Hawk."  https://issuu.com/tiptonpoetryjournal/docs/tpj43

 

LitDrop Magazine, February 29, 2020: "Melonhead and Me." https://litdropmagazine.com/

 

Yellow Mama, Issue #78, February 15, 2020: "Banjo Bob and Cassy," "n e u r o t i c," and "I Imagine It's Goodbye." http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/

 

ALBA: A Journal of Short Poetry, Winter 2020, "i s o l a t e," "m a n i c u r e," and "t r e  e  h o u s e." http://www.ravennapress.com/alba/issue_33/spicer.html

Shot Glass Journal, Issue 30, January 2020:  "Detour" and "One of Those Evenings." http://www.musepiepress.com/shotglass/david_spicer2.html

 

The Orchards, December 2019: "Uncle Bob." https://orchardspoetrycom.files.wordpress.com/2019/12/orchards-december-2019-issue-1.pdf

Dirty Girls Magazine , Issue 2 Winter 2019: "Gloria's Grief." Available at http://app.thebookpatch.com/BookStore/dirty-girls-magazine-issue-1-/55e3a74d-a254-4626-9f1b-0083a2a5b43e

2019
call me [brackets], Fall 2019, "Confessional,"  https://callmebrackets.net/david-spicer/  NOTE: The stanzas should be broken into lines of five each with no indentions, and the  last line should be by itself.
Constellations,: A Journal of Poetry and Fiction v 9: Confession, December 27, 2019: "Delusions of Accomplishment." Available at https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1650178654/astheappletur-20?creative=327641&camp=14573&link_code=as1
Anti-Heroin Chic, December 22, 2019: "The Promise"  http://heroinchic.weebly.com/blog/the-promise-by-david-spicer
Bleached Butterfly, Vol. 1:3--December 2019: "Quasimodo's Plea," "Love Song to a Monster," and "Moleman" https://f6e53bc2-a094-4915-b4c5-476cd9151674.filesusr.com/ugd/60a536_4fb5664546c941cdabf9260feb64431e.pdf
Yellow Mama, Issue 76, December 15th, 2019: "Elegy for Frank" and "Schmoozy Woozy" http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmama/
Synaeresis, Issue 8: "s o n g w r i t e r" https://andreasgripp.wixsite.com/synaeresis
The Stray Branch, Fall/Winter 2019: "Daughter and Mother," "Colt 44,"  "Aunt Pleinsie on Furlough
From Western State Mental Hospital," and "Elegy for the Murdered"  http://www.thestraybranch.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/Binder2-TSB-FW-2019.pdf
Trailer Park Quarterly, Fall, 2019:"Intrusion" http://trailerparkquarterly.com/volume-10/david-spicer/
Delta Poetry Review, Fall, 2019: ""Guardian Angel" and "What the Good Angel Said to Robert Johnson at the  Crossroads" http://deltapoetryreview.com/v1i3-david_spicer.html
Bending Genres, October 15, 2019: "Biography of a Cousin" https://bendinggenres.com/2019/10/15/biography-of-a-cousin/
Yellow Mama, Issue 76, October 15th, 2019: "Wanderer," "Raconteur," and "Desperado"
The Rye Whiskey Review, September 26, 2019: "Hiding Out at Moe's" http://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/search?q=david+spicer
The Rye Whiskey Review, August 23, 2019: "Herman Goring and Psycho Hillbilly Play the Dozens in the Far Side Bar" http://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/search?q=david+spicer
Bangor Literary Journal, August 2019: "Her Wise Words,"  https://thebangorliteraryjournal.files.wordpress.com/2019/08/blj-issue-9-ohf-2019-final-1-1.pdf
ISACOUSTIC,*  August 15, 2019: "Ghost Apples" and "Vacation" https://isacoustic.com/2019/08/page/1/
Yellow Mama, August 15, 2019: "The Ladderites" and "Voltaire and the Literary Guerillas"
The New Verse.News, August 09, 2019: "History of a Bigot" https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2019/08/history-of-bigot.html
The Rye Whiskey Review, July 10, 2019: "Nice" http://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/search?q=david+spicer
Circle Show, Winter/Spring 2019: "The First Time," ""Home Sweet Home," ""Dreamstones Waited,"
""The Menagerie That Glistened in Our Eyes," and "Before I Flee This Archipelago"  https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/ee4c72_a392afa35a3147c6ac3eb0ff1daded76.pdf
Oddball Magazine, June 12, 2019: "Good Souls" https://oddballmagazine.com/
Shot Glass Journal, June 8, 2019: "The Night You Died" https://mail.yahoo.com/d/folders/1
Ghost City Press, June 7, 2019:  "Goodbye Mr Merwin," https://ghostcitypress.com/june-2019-1
Zombie Logic Review, June 7, 2019: "Five Poems By David Spicer," http://zombielogicreview.blogspot.com/search/label/David%20Spicer
Post Card Poems and Prose Magazine,  June 7, 2019: "Grand Opening," https://postcardpoemsandprose.wordpress.com/2019/06/07/grand-opening-by-david-spicer/
The Rye Whiskey Review, May 31, 2019: "One Last Whiskey," http://ryethewhiskeyreview.blogspot.com/search?q=david+spicer
Jars of Wine, May 20, 2019: "The Night I Met My God," https://harleyclaes.wixsite.com/angelicalzine/blog
The Bookends Review, May 3, 2019: "traveler," http://thebookendsreview.com/category/poetry/page/5/
Progressive Poetics, April 27, 2019: "America, America 1," http://www.progressivepoetics.net/Poetry
Flatbush Review, Issue #4: "Zipper Lady," http://www.flatbushreview.com/david-spicer.html
Yellow Mama, February 15, 2019: "Hideaway," "After You Slept," "Ways My Calico Gets Her Way,"
Cacti Fur, "Hateful Man":  January 09, 2019 https://cactifur.com/?s=david+spicer
Yellow Mama, December 15,2019":  "The Bitchers" and "Voltaire and The Literary Guerillas,"
The Zombie Logic Review: "Respect" "Selective Memory," "King of the Bees," "Baseball Cards, Burns, Mothers:
A Triptych," "No Yellow Brick Road for Dorothy,"  November 24, 2018: "Elegy for a Chanteuse" and "Sentinels of Love" http://zombielogicreview.blogspot.com/search/label/David%20Spicer
Midnight Lane Boutique,  October 27, 2019: "Thank the Thunder" and "Family Road Trip" https://midnightlanegalleryii.wordpress.com/2018/10/26/feature-poet-david-spicer-8/

2018
The Hamilton Stone Review, Issue #39 Fall 2018: "My Grandmother" http://www.hamiltonstone.org/hsr39%20poetry.html#mygrandmother
Gravel, Fall, 2018: "Iris, The French Coast,  July 1944" https://www.gravelmag.com/david-spicer.html
Synaeresis IV: "Journey: An Ars Poetica" https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/6c7a02_5ab3f3a6e58a4847bed651267473e44c.pdf
Remington Review, Fall 2018: "You Left" https://www.flipsnack.com/Remingtonreview/remington-review-fall-2018.html
Midnight Lane Boutique, September 24, 2018: "Career "  and "On the Eve of the Apocalypse" https://midnightlanegalleryii.wordpress.com/2018/09/21/feature-poet-david-spicer-7/
Santa Clara Review, Vol. 106, Issue 1: "Epistle to G" https://issuu.com/santaclarareview/docs/scr106.1
In Between Hangovers, April 7, 2018: "Unanswered Letter" https://inbetweenhangovers.wordpress.com/2018/04/
unbroken journal, Issue 17: "Contributor's Note" http://unbrokenjournal.com/2018/04/contributors-note/
The New VerseNews, June 18, 2018: Plantet Hell's very Last Supper/Death Match https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2018/06/planet-hells-very-last-supperdeath-match.html
RAW Journal of Arts, March 29, 2018, Issue II: "A Town in Cornwall" https://pub.lucidpress.com/RAWissue2/#Fzeic_ew073v
The Subsynchronous Press Poem of the Month Collection, May 2017:  "Town of No Taboos" https://subsyncarchives.wordpress.com/subsynchronous-press-poems-of-the-month-for-2017/
The New Verse News, March 15, 2018: "7000 Pairs of Shoes" https://newversenews.blogspot.com/2018/03/7000-pairs-of-shoes.html
RAW Journal of Arts, Issue no.1: "Persimmon Boy" https://pub.lucidpress.com/RAWissue1/#KSeihG-6wx~3
CircleShow 17 Winter 2017: "Ancient Soul" and "Yuma, Where Are You?" https://docs.wixstatic.com/ugd/ee4c72_0c3b09716f96412a8cd2bf985076a8e1.pdf
Your One Phone Call, March 15, 2018: "The Assassin Academy" https://youronephonecall.wordpress.com/2018/03/05/the-assassin-academy-by-david-spicer/
In Between Hangovers, March 5, 2018: "The Phantom and Me" https://inbetweenhangovers.wordpress.com/2018/03/page/10/
Your One Phone Call, February 26, 2018, "Emigrating to Latvia" https://youronephonecall.wordpress.com/2018/02/
Your One Phone Call, February 19, 2018, "Music" https://youronephonecall.wordpress.com/2018/02/page/1/
Your One Phone Call, February 12, 2018, "Innocuous Invitation" https://youronephonecall.wordpress.com/2018/02/page/1/
Yellow Mama, February 10, 2018, "Whataya Say," "WANTED," and "Roxyanna"--see archives of Yellow Mama
Varnish, Issue 1, "Eating Pie A La Mode"  Website expired.

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

© 2019 by David Spicer. Proudly created with Wix.com